In 1859, a small area was taken from the property Victoria Downs and set aside for public use and designated on maps and documents as 'Victoria Downs Reserve'. It was on the mail route from Brisbane to Charleville. Later it became informally known as 'Sadlier's Waterhole' after Captain TJ Sadlier and his wife camped at the property. When officially surveyed in 1880, it was officially given the name Morven.
The Museum and footpaths display innovation by its citizens that is both unique and fun. The fact these are donations put on display a great level of community pride. The other museum exhibits are also quite quirky.
There is also a display of some of the regions animal branding ‘brands’. Something different again.