Cressy is the next small township when heading west towards Hamilton. A very small town is Cressy. Be sure to take the exit to check out this place.
George Russell put Cressy on the map around 1836. A Frenchman named Jean Duverney crossed the Woady Yaloak River in 1837; claimed land on both banks and called the area Frenchman's Run. Duverney called the small, developing village Cressy, after Crecy in France, where he was born.
Cressy was once a bustling town with several shops, garages, churches and a thriving railway station. Cressy still boasts many interesting old buildings, although many were destroyed in the fires of 1977. There are two beautiful old churches, and the Cressy Historical Society is now housed in the Presbyterian Church. The church was built in 1862 and is open for research on the first Sunday of every month.
The old airfield towards Colac was used by the RAAF during WWII. It operated during the war years 1939-1946 as a combat training aerodrome. The history group at the church has some photos and information on the airmen and the planes. The local cemetery is surrounded by old trees, very peaceful and still in use today.
At the loo, there is a map giving the heritage points.
The Museum likewise is in a heritage ‘church’